Third Bernard Halpern Symposium of Immunology, 9-10 octobre 2008

Colloque en anglais


Thursday 9th: ‘Fundamental Immunology’

Morning :

Chair : Philippe Kourilsky

9:00 – 9:30  Bernard Halpern:
Georges Halpern, Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences Hong Kong Polytechnic University
georges.halpern@polyu.edu.hk
"Bernard and Renée Halpern : Love, Science and Art "
9:30 – 10:00 Keynote:
James E. Darnell, Jr., Laboratory of Molecular Cell Biology, The Rockefeller University, New York, NY 10021-6399, USA
darnell@rockefeller.edu
"The STATS: Controlling Activity Is Important "

Chair : Claude-Agnès Reynaud

10:30 - 11:00
Ana Cumano, Institut Pasteur, Paris
cumano@pasteur.fr
"Hematopoietic stem cells emerge from endothelial cells in the dorsal aorta"
11:00 – 11:30
Frédéric Geissmann, Necker Medical School,Paris
geissman@necker.fr
'Biology of monocytes'
11:30 – 12:00
Laurie H. Glimcher, Department of Infectious Diseases and Immunology, Harvard School of Public Health, 651 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, USA.
lglimche@hsph.harvard.edu
"Transcriptional regulators of inflammatory diseases"

Afternoon :

Chair : Sebastian Amigorena

2:00 – 2:30
Fiona Powrie, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford, Oxford OX1 3RE, UK.
fiona.powrie@path.ox.ac.uk
"Intestinal homeostasis: a balancing act between effector and regulatory T cells"
2:30 – 3:00
Alexander Y. Rudensky, Department of Immunology, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, Washington 98195, USA
aruden@u.washington.edu
"Regulatory T cells in immune responses to self and non-self"
3:00 – 3:30
Ronald N. Germain, Lymphocyte Biology Section, Laboratory of Immunology, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), National Institutes of Health (NIH), Bethesda, MD 20892, USA.
rgermain@nih.gov
"Combining Molecular Studies, Models, and Movies to Develop an Integrated View of Immune Function"

Chair : Benedita Rocha

4:00 – 4:30
Jean-Claude Weill, Necker Medical School, Paris
weill@necker.fr
"B Cell Memory"
4:30 – 5:00
Philippa Marrack, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Integrated Department of Immunology, National Jewish Medical and Research Center, Denver, CO 80206, USA.
marrackp@njc.org
"The interaction between T cell receptors and MHC"

 

Friday 10th: ‘Immunity to Infection’

Morning :

Chair : Philippe Pierre

9:00 – 9:30
Gary W. Litman, Department of Pediatrics, University of South Florida Children's Research Institute, St. Petersburg, Florida 33701, USA
litmang@allkids.org ou glitman@com1med.usf.edu
9:30 – 10:00
Herbert W. Virgin 4th, Department of Pathology and Immunology, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO 63110, USA
svirgin@pathology.wustl.edu ou virgin@wustl.edu 
"Viral symbiosis, pathogenesis, and commensalism define host physiology. "
10:00 – 10:30
Shizuo Akira, Department of Host Defense, Research Institute for Microbial Diseases, Osaka University, Suita, Osaka, Japan.
sakira@biken.osaka-u.ac.jp
"Toll-like receptors: pathogen recognition and immune responses"

Chair : Marc Bonneville

11:00 – 11:30
Bruce D. Walker, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Partners AIDS Research Center and Infectious Disease Division, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School Division of AIDS, Boston, Massachusetts, USA.
bwalker@partners.org
"Elite control of HIV : Implications for vaccine design”
11:30 – 12:00
Jacques Banchereau, Baylor Research Institute, Dallas, Texas, USA.
jacquesb@BaylorHealth.edu
"Dendritic Cell Subsets in Medicine"

Afternoon :

Chair : Alain Fischer

2:00 – 2:30
Anne O’Garra, Division of Immunoregulation, The National Institute for Medical Research, Mill Hill, London NW7 1AA, UK.
aogarra@nimr.mrc.ac.uk
"Regulation and function of cytokines: implications for the immune response to pathogens"
2:30 – 3:00
Laurent Abel, Necker Medical School, Paris
abel@necker.fr
'Human genetics of mycobacterial diseases”
3:00 – 3:30
Jean-Pierre Gorvel, Centre d'Immunologie INSERM-CNRS Université de la Méditerranée Parc Scientifique de Luminy Case 906, 13288 Marseille Cedex 9, France.
gorvel@ciml.univ-mrs.fr
"Brucella, a Mr Hide converted into Dr Jekyll"

Chair : Alain Israel

4:00 – 4:30
Eric G. Pamer, Infectious Diseases Service, Department of Medicine, Immunology Program, Sloan-Kettering Institute, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY 10021, USA
pamere@mskcc.org
“TLR-signaling and intestinal immune tone: role of commensal complexity.”
4:30 – 5:00
Mary C. Dinauer, Herman B. Wells Center for Pediatric Research, Department of Pediatrics, Riley Hospital for Children, Indiana University School of Medicine, 1044 West Walnut Street, R4 451A, Indianapolis, Indiana 46202, USA.
mdinauer@iupui.edu
"Chronic Granulomatous Disease: NADPH oxidase and its role in host defense and inflammation".

A - Icône PDF télécharger le programme