Partnership agreements

The partnership agreements

To date, nineteenth partnership agreements have been signed with foreign higher education and research institutions. Most of them involve the creation of Chairs to host Collège de France professors. The agreements also provide for invitations of Visiting professors to the Collège de France. During the academic year 2011/2012, seven professors from partner universities (Berlin, Bonn, Jerusalem, Pavia, Uppsala [2], and Chicago) were invited to the Collège de France.
Certain agreements make provisions for the organization of joint symposia. Thus on 23 and 24 May 2011, under the agreement with the Peter Wall Institute of Advanced Studies (PWIAS), an international symposium on "The Commen-sal Microbiota: from Homeostasis to Disease" was organized at the Collège de France by Profs Phillipe Sansonetti (Chair of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases) and Brett Finlay (PWIAS), funded by the PWIAS and the Hugot Foun-dation of the Collège de France.
Finally, some agreements promote PhD or post-doc exchanges. During the year 2011/2012, the Collège de France hosted Francesca Lorandini, from the University of Trento, who was attached to the Chair of Prof. Antoine Compagnon (Modern and Contemporary French Literature: History, Criticism, Theory). This PhD students' visit was funded by the Hugot Foundation of the Collège de France.
Four new agreements were recently signed, one (14 March 2011) with the Pavia Istituto Universitario di Studi Supe-riori/IUSS, the other (28 September 2011) with the University of Trent, the University of Tokyo (Tdai) (29 Novem-ber 2012), University of Lisbon (17 January 2013). These agreements make provisions for the creation of Chairs to host ­junior researchers, and for organizing exchanges between junior researchers from across the world.

Partnership agreements

and their Collège de France coordinators (in brackets)


Académie royale de Belgique (Jean-Pierre Changeux)

Académie royale de Belgique


Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, UFRJ and Brazilian Academies of Sciences (Roger Chartier et Jean-Christophe Yoccoz)

Federal University of Rio de Janeiro


Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies (PWIAS)
University of British Columbia
(Philippe Sansonetti)

The Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies
Canada (30 juin 2009)
Universités québécoises (CRÉPUQ)
Conférence des Recteurs et des Principaux des Universités du Québec (CREPUQ)
Coordinateurs: Claudine Tiercelin / Nicole Lacasse
Universités du Québec (CREPUQ)


City University of Hong Kong (Claude Cohen-Tannoudji)

City University of Hong kong

Czech Republic

Charles University in Prague (Jean-Marie Lehn and Michel Zink)

Charles University in Prague


University of Bonn
(Michel Zink et Don Zagier) 

University of Bonn
Deutsches Archäologisches Institut, Berlin
(John Scheid)
Deutsches Archäologisches Institut


Hebrew University of Jerusalem / Institute of Advanced Studies
(Gabriele Veneziano)
Hebrew University of Jerusalem


Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa
(Gabriele Veneziano)I
Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa
Istituto Universitario di Studi Superiori di Pavia
(John Scheid et Stanislas Dehaene) 
Istituto Universitario di Studi Superiori di Pavia

University of Trento
(Antoine Georges et Carlo Ossola)

University of TrentoUniversity of Trento


University of Tokyo (TODAI)
(Anne Cheng and Jean-Noël Robert)

University of Tokyo


Saint Joseph University, Beirut
(Henry Laurens) 
Saint Joseph University of Beirut


University of Lisbon
University of Lisbon


Uppsala University 
(John Scheid) 
University of Uppsala


University of Lausanne - Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
(Thomas Römer) 
University of Lausanne

United States

University of Chicago/France-Chicago Center
(Edouard Bard and Pierre Briant) 
University of Chicago