

Makoto Fujita

Affiliation:

Tokyo College, UT Institute of Advanced Studies (UTIAS), The University of Tokyo Division of Advanced Molecular Science, Institute for Molecular Science (IMS)

Short Bio.: Makoto Fujita is University Distinguished Professor of The University of Tokyo, Japan. He received his Ph. D. degree from Tokyo Institute of Technology in 1987. After working in Chiba University, Institute for Molecular Science (IMS), and Nagoya University, he moved to the University of Tokyo as a full professor in 2002. In 2019, he received the current title from the University. His research interests include coordination self-assembly, molecular confinement, and coordination networks. He has received many domestic and international awards including Wolf Prize in Chemistry in 2018.

Education:

- 1980 BSc Chiba University
- 1982 MSc Chiba University
- 1987 PhD Tokyo Institute of Technology (by dissertation)

Professional Career:

1982 - 1988	Researcher, Sagami Chemical Research Center
1988 - 1997	Assistant Professor to Associate Professor, Chiba University
1997 - 1999	Associate Professor, Institute for Molecular Science (IMS)
1999 - 2002	Professor, Nagoya University
2002-	Professor, The University of Tokyo
2012 - 2014	WCU Visiting Professor at AMS, POSTECH (Adjunct)
2018-	Distinguished Professor, Institute for Molecular Science (IMS, Adjunct)
2019-	University Distinguished Professor, The University of Tokyo

Research Interests:

Molecular Recognition, Self-Assembly, Organic Chemistry, Coordination Chemistry

Honors (selected):

Asahi Prize (2023); Le Grand Prix 2022 de la Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie (France, 2022); Clarivate Citation Laureates (Clarivate, 2020); Imperial Prize and the Japan Academy Prize (2019); **Wolf Award in Chemistry** (Israel Wolf Foundation, 2018); The Naito Foundation Merit Award (2017); Medal with Purple Ribbon (Cabinet Office, Japan, 2014); ACS Fred Basolo Medal (2014); ISNSCE 2014 Nanoprize (2014); ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (2013); Chemical Society of Japan Award (2013); Leo Ezaki Prize, 2010; Japan Society of Coordination Chemistry Award, 2007; **Izatt-Christensen Award, 2004**: Nagoya Silver Medal, 2003; Japan IBM Award, 2001; Gold Medal of Tokyo Techno Forum 21, 2001; The Divisional Award of CSJ, 2000; Progress Award in Syn.Org. Chem., Japan; 1994.